Skip to content

News Release


Contact: Stan Lawson, or (913) 766-7601

Chamber Honors Chairman Ed Eilert with 2022 Richard A. Worrel Community Legacy Award

Overland Park, Kan., December 8, 2022 – The Overland Park Chamber recognized Johnson County Chairman Ed Eilert with the 2022 Richard A. Worrel Community Legacy Award. The award was present at the organization’s Annual Meeting on December 7, 2022. The event also featured the presentation of an OP Award to Gary Nevius, director of ForwardOP, and a keynote address by Joel Goldberg, longtime Kansas City Royals broadcaster.

Chairman Eilert has served Johnson County for 45 years, beginning as an Overland Park City Council Member in 1977. He was mayor of Overland Park from 1981 to 2005, then was elected to the county commission. He was elected chair of the commission in 2010 and re-elected twice. During his time as a community leader, Overland Park and Johnson County have transformed tremendously with Johnson County becoming the state’s most populous county and Overland Park becoming the second most populous city in Kansas. Major projects in which he was involved include the relocation of many headquarters, along with thousands of jobs, to Overland Park, the building of the Sprint Campus and the Overland Park Arboretum & Botanical Gardens, a new county courthouse and the Medical Examiner Facility, reconstruction of the Tomahawk Creek Wastewater Treatment Facility, opening of four county parks, three new libraries and renovation of the Central Resource Library.

The Overland Park Chamber established the Worrel Award in 2019 to honor longtime community leader Rick Worrel and to recognize individuals who exemplify Worrel’s legacy of lifetime service to the community.

Nevius was recognized for his volunteer service as the first executive director of the ForwardOP community vision process to develop a long-term, 20- 30-year vision for Overland Park. Working as a volunteer, Nevius has been creative, collaborative and energetic in bringing together many constituencies to take the vision from words to actions.

Also during the program, 2022 Chamber Chairman Tony Rupp, Foulston Siefkin, LLP; reviewed accomplishments of the year and 2023 Chairman Joan Wells, Augeo; previewed Chamber plans for the year ahead.

Presenting sponsor of the 2022 Annual Meeting was Netsmart Technologies. Silver Sponsors were Netrality Data Centers and Kutak Rock LLP.

# # #

We bring people together. Lead the hard conversations. Tackle the big issues. We work every day to make Overland Park the best place to build a business, a career and a home.

(913) 491-3600  |