Chamber building autumn

Chamber recognizes school superintendents for #ZeroReasonsWhy awareness campaign

Published Monday, December 10, 2018

When attempted suicides increased significantly and teen death by suicide nearly doubled in Johnson County during the first six months of 2018, the superintendents of the Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill school districts sprung to action to launch #ZeroReasonsWhy.

#ZeroReasonsWhy is a community mobilization and story campaign to prevent teen suicide and drive productive conversations to affirm there are zero reasons why suicide is an option. For their collaboration, the six school district superintendents were recognized with OP Awards by the Overland Park Chamber of Commerce.

The OP Award, which recognizes individuals and organizations going above and beyond, were presented at the Chamber’s Annual Meeting on December 5 at the Overland Park Convention Center.

Also receiving an OP Award was Tom Robinett who has helped lead the Overland Park Chamber’s public policy and advocacy efforts for nearly 30 years and recently retired as the Chamber’s Vice President of Public Policy and Advocacy.

Providing the keynote address at the luncheon program was Tommy Spaulding, a two-time New York Times best-selling author of books on leadership.

About 600 professionals attended the event, which also featured a review of the past year by 2018 Chamber Chairman Brett Bogan, Spencer Fane LLP; and plans for the year ahead presented by 2019 Chairman Mike Hess, HNTB Corporation.

Also recognized were nine retiring Chamber board of directors:

The Presenting Event Sponsor was Security Bank of Kansas City.


AdventHealth Shawnee Mission Black & Veatch Central Bank of the Midwest Empower Retirement HCA Midwest Health Sprint